Safeguards Assessments Completed to Date

Last updated: July 28, 2022

Safeguards Assessments, which apply to all member countries with arrangements for use of IMF resources approved after June 30, 2000, aim to provide reasonable assurance to the IMF that a central bank's framework of reporting and controls is adequate to manage resources, including IMF disbursements. Safeguards Assessments cover five key areas of control and governance within central banks, summarized by the acronym ELRIC, that is (i) the External audit mechanism; (ii) the Legal structure and independence; (iii) the financial Reporting framework; (iv) the Internal audit mechanism; and (v) the internal Controls system. Member countries with arrangements in effect prior to June 30, 2000 were subject to an abbreviated assessment, which evaluated only the adequacy of the external audit mechanism. Safeguards Assessments completed to date are set out below:

Assessments completed since June 2000


Year Countries Yearly Total
2022 Albania, Bangladesh, BEAC, Cabo Verde, Eswatini, Georgia, Rwanda, South Africa, Tanzania, Uzbekistan 10
2021 The Bahamas, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Dominican Republic, ECCB, Ghana, Guinea, Kosovo, Kyrgyz Republic, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritania, Montenegro, Nepal, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Samoa, Seychelles, South Sudan, Suriname, Tajikistan, Tonga, Uganda 25
2020 Afghanistan, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Egypt, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Jordan, Liberia, Moldova, Mozambique, North Macedonia, Panama, Somalia, Tunisia 16
2019 Angola, Armenia, Ecuador, Haiti, Honduras, Kenya, Morocco, Pakistan, São Tomé and Príncipe, Ukraine 10
2018 Argentina, Barbados, BCEAO, The Gambia, Guinea, Malawi, Mauritania, Seychelles 8
2017 Afghanistan, BEAC, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ecuador, Egypt, Jamaica, Madagascar, Moldova, Mongolia, Sierra Leone 10
2016 ECCB, Guinea, Haiti, Iraq, Jordan, Mozambique, Nepal, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Tunisia, Vanuatu 13
2015 Ghana, Honduras, Kenya, Kosovo, Kyrgyz Republic, Liberia, Madagascar, Morocco, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Ukraine, Yemen 12
2014 Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Romania, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Ukraine 9
2013 BCEAO, BEAC, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cyprus, Egypt, Jamaica, Jordan, Liberia, Libya, Morocco, Pakistan, São Tomé and Príncipe, Seychelles, Solomon Islands, Tunisia, Yemen 16
2012 Burundi, Djibouti, ECCB, Gambia, Greece, Guinea, Kenya, Kosovo, Lesotho, Malawi, Solomon Islands, Tanzania 12
2011 Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Fiji, Georgia, Haiti, Honduras, Ireland, Kenya, Kyrgyz Republic, Liberia, Macedonia, Nepal, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Ukraine, Yemen 17
2010 Angola, Armenia, BCEAO, Cambodia, Comoros, Democratic Rep. of the Congo, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Georgia, Greece, Iraq, Jamaica, Kosovo, Lesotho, Malawi, Maldives, Mauritania, Moldova, Mozambique, Pakistan, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Tajikistan, Zambia 26
2009 Armenia, BEAC, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Costa Rica, Djibouti, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, Kenya, Kyrgyz Rep., Latvia, Lebanon, Mongolia, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Romania, Sao Tome & Principe, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, The Gambia, Ukraine, Zambia 28
2008 Afghanistan, Burundi, Cape Verde, Congo Dem. Rep., Georgia, Haiti, Honduras, Iraq, Lebanon, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Seychelles, Tanzania 15
2007 Comoros, ECCB, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Liberia, Mauritania, Nicaragua, Peru, Rwanda, The Gambia, Uganda 12
2006 Afghanistan, Albania, Burundi, Croatia, Iraq, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Moldova, Paraguay, Sierra Leone 11
2005 Armenia, Bangladesh, BCEAO, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Colombia, Croatia, Dominican Republic, Haiti, Kenya, Kyrgyz Republic, Turkey, Uruguay 12
2004 Argentina, BEAC, Belarus, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cambodia, Georgia, Honduras, Mauritania, Mozambique, Nepal, Peru, Romania, Sao tome & Principe, The Gambia, Ukraine, Zambia 19
2003 Bolivia, Colombia, Congo Dem. Rep., Croatia, Dominican Republic, ECCB, Ecuador, Ghana, Guyana, Jordan, Kenya, Lao People's Republic, Lesotho, Macedonia, Malawi, Mongolia, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Rwanda, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Uganda, Uruguay 24
2002 Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, BCEAO, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, El Salvador, Georgia, Guatemala, Guinea, Kyrgyz Republic, Moldova, Mongolia, Nepal, Romania, Sierra Leone, Turkey 22
2001 Albania, BEAC, Ethiopia, Kenya, Latvia, Lesotho, Lithuania, Madagascar, Malawi, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Serbia, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan 16
Transitional Assessments Argentina, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Colombia, Djibouti, Estonia, Ghana, Guyana, Honduras, Indonesia, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania, Mauritania, Mozambique, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Romania, Sao Tome & Principe, Tanzania, Turkey, Ukraine, Uruguay, Yemen, Zambia 27