

Panelists Biographies

Tax Avoidance in Sub-Saharan Africa's Mining Sector



Tax Avoidance in Sub-Saharan Africa's Mining Sector

29.03 0.43 16.27 37.99
29.03 0.43 16.27 37.99
24.2
24.2
2.02 0.41 0.53 -1.03 0.82

8.67 0.09 13.04 14.32 40.4
32.36 30.67
34.06 -55.1 -24.85

45.12 0.77 2.31
8.49 0.12 27.72 36.17 15.15

Panelists Biographies



Hon. Ipumbu Shiimi Minister of Finance of Namibia

Ipumbu Shiimi is an accomplished economist and the Minister of Finance in the Republic of Namibia since March 2020. Before his Ministerial appointment, he was a Governor of Bank of Namibia from 2010 to 2020 where he previously served as Assistant Governor and also occupied several positions from junior to senior level in the same bank. During his working career, Shiimi participated in various research projects and co-authored various publications as well as served on various Boards and Committees.

He holds a Master of Science in Financial Economics (MSc in Fin. Econ) - University of London, United Kingdom (1998), Postgraduate Diploma in Economic Principles from the same University (1995), Diploma in Foreign Trade and Management - Maastricht School of Management, Netherlands (1994), Honours in Economics from the University of Western Cape, South Africa (1993), Bachelor of Commerce in Economics and Accounting from the same University (1992), specialised training in Management Development Program from University of Stellenbosch (2000) and Wits Business School, South Africa (2001). Shiimi is one of the eight non-voting members appointed by President Hage Geingob to the National Assembly in March 2020.



Lassané Kabore
Minister of Economy,
Finance and Development of
Burkina Faso

Lassané KABORE took the reins of the Ministry of Economy, Finance and Development in January 2019. Prior to this appointment, he held the position of Director in charge of Macroeconomic Stability and Multilateral Surveillance of Economic and Financial Policies of ECOWAS Member States.

He was also Director General of Cooperation, and as such was Alternate Governor for the World Bank, the African Development Bank and the Islamic Development Bank on behalf of Burkina Faso and Alternate Authorizing Officer for the European Development Fund (EDF).

He holds a Postgraduate Diploma (DESS) in Management, with a specialization in Strategy and Business Management from the University of Paris-I, Panthéon Sorbonne, a Postgraduate Diploma (DESS) in Management, with a specialization in Strategy and Business Management from the Centre for Financial, Economics and Banking Studies (CEFEB) of the French Development Agency in Marseille, as well as a Postgraduate Degree (DEA) in Development Economics and Socio-Economics, with a specialization in Macroeconomics, from the University of Ouagadougou.



Tax Avoidance in Sub-Saharan Africa's Mining Sector

Panelists Biographies



Tom Butler
Former CEO of the
International Council on
Mining and Metals
(ICMM)

Tom Butler is an independent consultant helping companies and leaders to navigate environmental, social, and governance risks and issues. From 2015 to 2021 he was CEO of the International Council on Mining and Metals, the mining and metals industry's peak global association, which brings together 28 leading companies to collaborate at CEO level on improving their environmental and social performance. Prior to that, he was Global Head of Mining at the International Finance Corporation (part of the World Bank Group), where he spent 18 years financing mining and other heavy industry projects in emerging market countries around the world. Tom holds an engineering degree from Cambridge university, and an MBA from INSEAD.



Léonce Ndikumana
Commission Member,
Independent Commission
for the Reform of
International Taxation
(ICRICT)

Léonce Ndikumana is Distinguished Professor of Economics and Director of the African Development Policy Program at the Political Economy Research Institute (PERI) of the University of Massachusetts Amherst. He is a member of the Independent Commission for International Business Tax Reform (ICRICT). He is also Honorary Professor at the University of Cape Town and the University of Stellenbosch in South Africa.